The existing pavilion was constructed in 1928 and over nearly 90 years had suffered wear and tear. While strategically located, the building’s aesthetic and functional issues inhibited its effective full potential use as event space. Growing problems with the building included weathered windows, roofing and flooring, and aging, inefficient restroom facilities.
The historical renovations were intended to enhance the existing facility in a manner befitting the original vision of the building, while also providing a better experience for visitors and staff. Work included replacement of siding, windows, and doors to match the historic condition; repointing of stone columns; restoration of the historic Fillmore Room assembly space; and reconfiguration of spaces to accommodate handicapped accessibility and the nearby swimming area. All work was installed to match the historic condition of the building.